Brotherhood in Death by J.D. Robb

Rating: 3 / 5 stars

When I first fell in love with Nora Roberts/JD Robb, I was a completely different person. The last few books I’ve read (JD Robb only, I’m already done with her regular books), I’ve been pretty bored. All white, all hetero, all cis cast of characters? I have almost zero interest in them these days. And the series has been going on so long that the little quirks about the characters that I used to be amused by, I am now annoyed by (or that might be due to how I’ve changed as a person). I can see why she’s able to churn out so many books every year. These JD Robb books feel like copy and paste versions of each other. All very predictable.

This book in particular felt like a two-part Law & Order SVU episode. The scenes with Dennis Mira were intriguing but the rest of it was S.O.S – same old shit. I’m glad I checked the book out from the library instead of buying it.

Originally published on BookLikes on March 12, 2016.

Leave a Reply

